Evolution Thursday: Hildie McQueen

Hildie McQueen writes Paranormal Romance, with a touch of Historical here and there. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, as well as Georgia Romance Writers and Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal Chapters of RWA.

Visit her blog for a peek at her zany thoughts and you’ll also get a chance to meet some great author friends that post on Favorite Five Wednesdays!

For fun, she spends a lot of time with her girlfriends. Her wonderful hubby is her partner in crime for traveling. They love to jump in the car or sometimes his motorcycle and head to the mountains, the city or the beach.

Life is great!


What gave you the idea for the title “Desperate Betrayal?”

I am not quite sure, it mostly came from the fact that in each story Emma is in a ‘desperate’ position with little recourse other than to betray Cyn.

Do you recall the first scene you wrote?

Yes! It was the scene where Emma is watching Cyn fight against the demons, it’s such a vivid scene in my mind, I can actually see him battling.

Did you have a scene that you loved but ended up cutting?

There is a scene where Roderick is being held captive by the demons. He defends himself quite well even though he’s tied up. It’s a great scene. But it did not propel the story forward so the editor cut it.

I usually have an a-ha moment, where an insignificant detail becomes something really important. Did you have a moment like that? Will it spoil the plot to tell me what it was?

No it will not spoil it…it’s when Julian tells Cyn who Emma is to him. I wasn’t quite sure until I wrote that scene how I was going to bring them together.

Are you surprised where the story took you? Or if ended up where you planned, were you surprised how you got there?

I’m a total pantster, can’t wait to write to see what happens next, so every scene is a surprise to me most times!

What story idea is sitting in the class right now, raising his hand madly, begging you to call on him?

I had to quit writing Fallon’s story (Desperate Possession) and penned a short story for Sebastian, the Incubus in all of the Protector books. It’s not finished but I couldn’t move on until he shut up!

Oh, I really like Sebastian. I want to read that! Thanks for dropping by today, Hildie.

Thank you so much for having me here taking over your blog this week! It’s been so much fun.


Okay, lovely readers, don’t go yet. In celebration of the unannounced, completely accidental “Hildie McQueen Week” on my blog, sweet Hildie is giving away a $10 Starbucks giftcard AND three free copies of Desperate Choices for  commenters on this post! So, leave a comment, and then go check out the reviews for her work posted this week. I’ll even provide links:

Desperate Choices
Desperate Betrayal
Desperate Surrender 

7 thoughts on “Evolution Thursday: Hildie McQueen

  1. This sounds like a very interesting story. My wife and I have been reading a lot lately and this sounds like the perfect book to have on our list. Can’t wait to read it! Great interview as well.

  2. Pingback: #SixSunday – Circle of the Butterfly #9 « Wendy S. Russo

Leave a Reply

