Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States, discovers vampires are planning to take over the United States. He makes it his mission to eliminate them.

Or, may I suggest a new title. Abraham Lincoln: Ax-toting Badass.

I’m mostly kidding. “Ax-toting Badass” might give interested viewers the idea that this movie is a comedy, which it most definitely is not. And if I could hug the production team for withholding the best of our beloved Mr. President’s fight scenes from the trailer, I would. Honest Abewith his ax tipped in silver, is a madman (a vampire’s word, not mine,) and what you see here barely scratches the surface of the awesomeness.

In Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, we bear witness to two events in a young boy’s life that shape the man that fights to hold the Union together amidst a fight against slavery, secession, and vampire hordes yearning for a nation to call their own. The movie’s makers give us an Abraham who is passionate, vengeance driven, clever, and honorable. He lives the latter half of his life by the words of his wife’s father, who told her to plant her feet and stand for what she believed in. The only question is where to plant her feet. Abe plants his on the principle that until all men are free, all men are slaves. Joining him in this fight are Mary Todd, his childhood friend Will, his business partner Speed, and Harriet Tubman with her Underground Railroad. The movie’s action spans a great triangle, from Illinois to New Orleans and to Washington DC, culminating at the battle of Gettysburg, where Abe and his friends finally get the upper hand on the Confederate Army’s vampire soldiers.

My husband and I saw this movie for our 7th Anniversary, which was yesterday. (And for the record, we consider it our 17th anniversary.) We expected a martial arts thrill ride, but the film also provided good writing, acting, and effects.

If you are a fan of vampires and/or action films, I recommend Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. It was as surprisingly good movie.

8 thoughts on “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

  1. As soon as I saw the title, I thought, “Comedy!”. Actually loks kinda interesting.
    Thanks for the info!!

  2. I am very surprised by this. I totally put it in the “snakes on a plane” category and dismissed it entirely. Now I might actually be interested. 🙂

  3. I’ve really wanted to see this and haven’t gotten there yet. Thanks for sharing your opinion. Wants me make to see it even more now. Some of my friends who know I love Civil War history think I would be turned off by it but I’m really excited to watch it! Oh, and Happy Anniversary! 🙂

Leave a Reply

