What’s Love Got to Do with It?

Lynn Rush, author of the Wasteland and Violet Night Trilogies, is running a fun blog hop with a $250 grand prize. Lynn’s site is the hub. Click on the graphic to get there. Visit the blogs and complete the Rafflecopter tasks for changes to win.

To play along with the theme of “What’s Love Got to Do with It?” I am posting a deleted scene from January Black. It’s one of my favorite scenes, but it was necessarily cut when I rewrote the middle third of the book. (Those who have read the book will understand the significance of the maple leaf. *wink*)

Early on the evening of Matty’s birthday, Iris walked into the courtyard garden to find him lying on the stone floor, his feet propped on the chaise, a book saddled on his chest. He twirled a red maple leaf between his fingers as he stared at Wolfgang, the brightest star of The Maestros constellation and one of the few visible in Aventine. She picked the book from his chest and read the spine: The Sonnets. She flipped it around and read aloud from the page.

“When, in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes, I all alone beweep my outcast state, and trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries and look upon myself and curse my fate, wishing me like to one more rich in hope, featured like him, like him with friends possessed, desiring this man’s art and that man’s scope, with what I most enjoy contented least.”

She stopped to take a breath. He recited the rest from memory.

“Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising, haply I think on thee, and then my state…”

She sat down at his head, and replacing the book on his chest, she looked down at him, at his tousled hair, his eyes sparkling in the lamplight.

“…like to the lark at break of day arising from sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate, For thy sweet love remembered such wealth brings that then I scorn to change my state with kings.”

“What are you doing on the ground?”

He caressed her cheek with his finger and twirled a gold curl around his finger. “Counting my blessings.”

For the first moment in months, she felt like the chasm between them was all in her mind and had never been there at all.

I hope you enjoyed this special moment between Matty and Iris. Please visit Lynn Rush’s blog to see more Valentines’ themed posts!

7 thoughts on “What’s Love Got to Do with It?

  1. I have not read January Black, but I am going to add it to my TBR list and I am bookmarking this post so I can understand it more. Thanks for sharing the excerpt and thanks for taking part in the fun blog hop with Lynn and the other authors. I’m late to the party but I’m catching up on all the posts now.

Leave a Reply

